Prevention through analysis-based intervention

Fact: Psychoactive substances are illegal. It is also a fact that substances containing extender compounds or high-dose substances reach unsuspecting consumers on the black market. 

This is a fact that cannot be explained away or ignored. The consequences are life-threatening or even fatal emergencies. But it is also a fact that abuse and accidents can be prevented by drug checking. 

With our QTests drug checking will become even more reliable, easier and more cost-effective, enabling drug checking in Germany and beyond will become possible.

Benefits

Drug Checking - More than just testing drug ingredients

By the way, there is more to Drug Checking projects than the name suggests. 

It is not about a home substance analysis carried out in advance, but rather a professional prevention service offered by specially trained drug checkers. Drug checking includes chemical analysis, in which drugs are subjected to a substance test as well as the examination of composition and active substance concentration. 

It is completed with a subsequent consultation with the user on the effects, risks, possible and probable harm. The offer of such systematic drug substance testing is very low-threshold and low-threshold and particularly effective. This is also because mobile drug where the prohibited substances can be found: At concerts, parties or festivals. 

This means that, for the first time, people who have not been sufficiently receptive to prevention measures were not sufficiently open or accessible.

Success

... and effective on more than one level.

The experience of drug checkers coincides with the results of survey research: drug checking has a significant influence on consumer behavior. 

Consumers become more cautious, more reflective, or refrain from taking drugs altogether if the results of the analysis do not match their expectations or the promises of third parties. In addition, drug check projects are an excellent early warning system, as they enable in-depth, systematic scanning of the market. 

Emerging extenders or overdoses can thus be identified and indicated at an early stage. Other countries in Europe have already begun to exploit the potential of drug checking: for example, drugs are being tested for ingredients and successful drug checking projects are being implemented in Switzerland , Great Britain and Austria.

Details

This is what happens at miraculix Drug Checking in Germany

Drug Checking is particularly influential when it is offered on-site at the place where the consumption takes place. In this case, the consumers are directly involved in the testing of drug ingredients. They independently take a sample for the drug substance test, weigh it and perform the first step themselves with the miraculix test kit: The extraction. 

This renders the substance unusable and Drug Checker can take over the next analysis steps without hesitation. Depending on the substance tested, the result is available after a maximum of 30 minutes, and the consultation can begin. 

The advantage of miraculix QTests lies not only in the rapid analysis but also in the exact determination of active substance concentrations and compositions. We also perform complementary antibody tests that additionally detect traces of active substances for which there is currently no QTest. 

In addition, further qualitative reagents or thin-layer chromatography are used to further expand the informative value of the analysis-based intervention. Drug checkers thus have profound knowledge of the specific individual case and can combine this with objective substance information and their knowledge of dosages and incorporate it into the consultation.

Project

Mobile Drug Checking in Germany - 
The Thuringian Model Project

Drug testing in Germany - is it that simple? Exactly not. Besides the financial, organizational and personnel costs, legal certainty has long been a critical has long been a critical buzzword. Our QTests solve some of the problems that have arisen. Problems, and, in particular, they create legal certainty for drug checkers.

In 2021, together with “Suchthilfe in Thüringen gGmbH“, we launched the first mobile drug checking in Germany as a large-scale model project. Although the Covid 19 pandemic thinned out the calendar of events, mobile drug checking was used at many raves, festivals and open air events. Besides the obvious goal of protecting people from harm and misuse, we were also interested in concentrations, and to systematically record and to catalog substances them.

Conclusion: By working together, we were able to combine chemical-toxicological analysis with low-threshold counseling services and perfected them into an analysis-based intervention. The project is a successful model for Drug Checking in Germany - for the first time and hopefully not unique.

ProCess

This is how it works with us

FAQ

What else is there to know

What we are often asked about drug checking:

Oh yes it is! The Epidemiological Survey on Addiction 2018 revealed that around 15.2 million Germans between the ages of 18 and 64 had used illicit drugs at least once in their lives at the time of the survey. That is ten percent more than in 2008. In general, the use of illegal drugs has increased throughout Europe in the last 30 years. At the same time, concentrations in substances are increasing, extenders, impurities and synthetic active ingredients are becoming more common. Therefore, we need prevention services that help people protect themselves from harm or abuse. Drug checking is by far one of the most effective measures. That’s why we advocate the establishment of drug checking in Germany. 

In principle, drug checking and our preferred variant of analysis-based intervention mean the same thing. However, we would like to suggest that the focus is differently set already in the naming. The decisive intervention in Drug Checking is the counseling interview, which draws its persuasive power from a well-founded Drug Check. That is, the drug substance test is not the result of the prevention intervention, but rather its factual basis, an effective means for the purpose of intervention. Therefore, drug checking is analysis-based intervention. 

Drug testing in Germany often means a risk or at least a legal gray area for drug checkers, since they are at least temporarily handling illegal substances during the analysis. Our QTests solve this problem because they work in a two-step procedure. Step one involves extraction, where a sample of the substance is placed in a solvent. This causes the sample to lose its psychoactive effect and the Drug Checker can work with it without hesitation or legal consequences. This procedure is unique to miraculix QTests, which is why they are so well suited for drug checking in Germany.

 

Intervention needs a protected space. Consumers need to feel safe from sanctions, so that they dare to take up the offer of a drug check. Public announcements of drug substance tests would directly endanger this protected space, therefore we do not "advertise" our attendance of events. 

No, we do not currently offer inpatient drug substance testing. If you have a hunch or suspicion about which drug it might be, you can also use our QTests. 

In principle we are open for such projects. Let us talk about it and just contact us and we will be happy to talk to you.

We can detect cocaine in samples using antibody tests. A corresponding QTest that quantifies cocaine or allows statements about the concentration of levamisole does not yet exist. However, we are in the process of developing a simple and uncomplicated test procedure. 

For the active ingredients psilocybin, MDMA, LSD as well as THC and CBD miraculix QTests are available. In addition, further dye tests and specific antibody tests are used, which further support the analysis-based intervention. For common drugs such as cocaine, fentanyl or amphetamines do not yet have a QTest up our sleeve. 

This refers to the cooperation project between miraculix and the Thuringian Drug Checking pilot project "SubCheck" of the "Suchthilfe in Thüringen gGmbh". The project takes place on the Thuringian Ministry of Labor, Social Affairs, Health, Women and Family. The aim is to systematically test the potential of drug checking in Germany and Thuringia, respectively, and to show new potentials for prevention offers. You can learn more about the project in our blog.

Yes, we always recommend a joint drug check workshop before going into the field for the first time. In this way, all participants can learn the test procedures, and develop their own routine. Questions and ambiguities can also be clarified immediately, so that misunderstandings or careless mistakes can be avoided directly.

Contact

Make an appointment with us

Leave us a message with your question or request and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

Prävention durch analysebasierte Intervention

Fakt ist: Psychoaktive Substanzen sind illegal. Fakt ist auch: Über den Schwarzmarkt gelangen mit Streckmitteln versetzte oder hochdosierte Substanzen an ahnungslose Konsument:innen. 

Ein Umstand, der nicht wegdiskutiert oder -ignoriert werden kann. Die Folge sind lebensgefährliche oder sogar tödliche Notfälle. Aber Fakt ist auch, dass sich Missbrauch und Unfälle durch Drug Checking verhindern lassen. 

Durch unsere QTests wird mobiles Drug Checking noch zuverlässiger, einfacher und kostengünstiger, sodass erstmalig flächendeckendes Drug Checking in Deutschland und darüber hinaus möglich wird.

Vorteile

Drug Checking – Mehr als Drogen Inhaltsstoffe testen

Hinter solchen Projekten steckt übrigens mehr, als der Name zunächst vermuten lässt. 

Es geht hier nicht um eine im Vorfeld durchgeführte, heimische Substanzanalyse, sondern meint ein professionelles Präventionsangebot, welches durch speziell geschulte Drug Checker:innen zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Es umfasst die chemische Analyse bei der Drogen einem Substanztest unterzogen werden sowie die Untersuchung von Zusammensetzung und Wirkstoffkonzentration. 

Vervollständigt wird es mit einem anschließenden Beratungsgespräch zu Wirkung, Risiko, möglichen und wahrscheinlichen Schäden mit dem:der Konsument:in. Das Angebot solch systematischer Drogen Substanztests ist sehr niederschwellig und besonders wirkungsvoll. Auch weil mobiles Drug Checking da passiert, wo auch die verbotenen Wirkstoffe zu finden sind: Auf Konzerten, Partys oder Festivals. 

Dadurch werden erstmals auch Menschen angesprochen, die bislang für Präventionsmaßnahmen nicht hinreichend aufgeschlossen bzw. erreichbar waren.

Auf mehreren Ebenen wirksam

Auf mehreren Ebenen wirksam

Die Erfahrung von Drug Checker:innen deckt sich dabei mit den Ergebnissen der Umfragenforschung: Drug Checking beeinflusst das Konsumverhalten signifikant. 

Konsument:innen werden vorsichtiger, reflektierter oder verzichten ganz auf die Einnahme, wenn das Analyseergebnis nicht mit den eigenen Erwartungen bzw. den Versprechungen Dritter übereinstimmt.Außerdem sind solche Projekte ein hervorragendes Frühwarnsystem, da sie ein tiefgreifendes, systematisches Scannen des Marktes ermöglichen. 

Neu aufkommende Streckstoffe oder Überdosierungen können so frühzeitig erkannt und angezeigt werden. In anderen Ländern Europas hat man bereits begonnen, das Potenzial analysebasierter Intervention auszuschöpfen: beispielsweise werden in der Schweiz, Großbritannien und Österreich Drogen auf Inhaltsstoffe getestet und erfolgreiche Drug Checking Projekte realisiert.

Details

Das passiert beim miraculix Drug Checking in Deutschland

Besonders einflussreich ist Drug Checking, wenn es als sogenanntes On-Site dort angeboten wird, wo auch der Konsum stattfindet. Dabei werden die Konsument:innen direkt in das Testen der Drogen Inhaltsstoffe eingebunden. Sie bereiten selbstständig die Probe für den Drogen Substanztest vor, wiegen diese ab und führen den ersten Schritt mit dem miraculix Testkit selber durch: Die Extraktion.

Je nach untersuchter Substanz liegt das Ergebnis nach maximal 30 Minuten vor und die Beratung kann beginnen. Der Vorteil der miraculix QTests liegt dabei nicht nur in der schnellen Analyse, sondern vor allem in der exakten Bestimmung von Wirkstoffkonzentrationen und -zusammensetzungen. 

Außerdem führen wir ergänzend Antikörpertests durch, die zusätzlich Spuren von Wirkstoffen nachweisen, für die es aktuell noch keinen QTest gibt. Hinzu kommen weitere qualitative Reagenzien oder die Dünnschichtchromatografie, um die Aussagefähigkeit der analysebasierten Intervention noch breiter aufzustellen. 

Dadurch verfügen Drug Checker:innen über profundes Wissen zum konkreten Einzelfall und können dies ad hoc mit objektiven Substanzinformationen und ihrem Wissen über Dosierungen verknüpfen und in das Beratungsgespräch einfließen lassen.

Projekt

Mobiles Drug Checking in Deutschland – Das Thüringer Modellprojekt

Drogen testen lassen in Deutschland – geht das denn so einfach? Eben nicht. Neben den finanziellen, organisatorischen und personellen Aufwänden ist seit langem Rechtsicherheit ein kritisches Buzzword. Unsere QTests lösen einige der aufgeworfenen Probleme und insbesondere schaffen sie Rechtssicherheit für Drug Checker:innen.

Gemeinsam mit der SiT – Suchthilfe in Thüringen gGmbH haben wir 2021 das erste mobile Drug Checking in Deutschland als großangelegtes Modellprojekt realisiert. Obwohl die Coronapandemie den Veranstaltungskalender spürbar ausdünnte, kam unsere analysebasierte Intervention vielfach auf Raves, Festivals und Open Airs zum Einsatz. Neben dem offenkundigen Ziel Menschen vor Schäden und Missbrauch zu bewahren, lag uns daran gefährliche Konzentrationen ausfindig zu machen, Substanzen systematisch zu erfassen und zu katalogisieren.

Fazit: Durch die Zusammenarbeit konnten chemisch-toxikologische Analytik mit niedrigschwelligen Beratungsangeboten kombiniert und zu einer analysebasierten Intervention vervollkommnet werden. Erste und zum Teil erschreckende Ergebnisse lest ihr in unserem Blog. Letztlich ist das Projekt ein Erfolgsmodell für Drug Checking in Deutschland – erstmals und hoffentlich nicht einmalig.

Prozess

So läuft das mit uns ab

FAQ

Was es sonst noch zu wissen gibt

Was wir häufig zum Thema Drug Checking gefragt werden:

Oh ja und wie! Das Epidemiologische Suchtsurvey 2018 ergab, dass rund 15,2 Mio. Deutsche zwischen 18 und 64 Jahre zum Befragungszeitpunkt wenigstens einmal in ihrem Leben illegale Drogen konsumiert hatten. Das sind zehn Prozent mehr als noch im Jahr 2008. Generell ist in den letzten 30 Jahren europaweit der Konsum illegaler Drogen gestiegen. Gleichzeitig nehmen die Konzentrationen in Substanzen zu, Streckmittel, Verunreinigungen und synthetische Wirkstoffe werden immer häufiger. Daher braucht es flächendeckende Präventionsangebote, die Menschen dabei helfen sich selbst vor Schäden oder Missbrauch zu schützen. Drug Checking gehört dabei nachweislich zu den wirkungsvolleren Maßnahmen. Daher setzen wir uns dafür ein Drug Checking in Deutschland zu etablieren.

Grundsätzlich meinen Drug Checking und die von uns bevorzugte Variante der analysebasierten Intervention das gleiche. Wir möchten allerdings dazu anregen den Schwerpunkt bereits in der Benennung anders zu setzen. Die entscheidende Intervention beim Drug Checking ist das Beratungsgespräch, welches seine Überzeugungskraft aus einem fundierten Drug Check zieht. Das heißt, der Drogen Substanztest ist nicht das Ergebnis der Präventionsmaßnahme, sondern ihre faktische Grundlage, ein wirkungsvolles Mittel zum Zwecke der Intervention. Daher ist Drug Checking analysebasierte Intervention.

Drogen testen lassen in Deutschland bedeutet für Drug Checker:innen häufig ein Risiko oder wenigstens eine rechtliche Grauzone, schließlich hantieren sie im Rahmen der Analyse zumindest zeitweilig mit illegalen Substanzen. Diese Problematik lösen unsere QTests, da sie in einem zweistufigen Verfahren funktionieren, wobei die Probe mit Zugabe der Nachweisreagenz nicht mehr konsumierbar ist. Der Wirkstoff wird in seiner chemischen Struktur irreversibel verändert und der oder die Drug Checker:in kann bedenken- und juristisch folgenlos damit arbeiten. Dieses Vorgehen ist einmalig bei den miraculix QTest, daher sind sie so gut fürs Drug Checking in Deutschland geeignet.

Intervention braucht einen geschützten Raum. Konsument:innen müssen sich vor Wertung und Sanktionierung sicher fühlen, damit sie sich trauen das Angebot eines Drug Checks auch wahrzunehmen. Öffentliche Ankündigungen von DrogenDrogen SubstanztestsSubstanztests würden diesen geschützten Raum unmittelbar gefährden, daher „bewerben“ wir unseren Besuch von Veranstaltungen aktuell nicht.

Nein, aktuell bieten wir noch keine stationären Drogen Substanztests an. Sofern du eine Ahnung oder Vermutung hast, um welchen Wirkstoff es sich handeln könnte, kannst du auch auf unsere QTests zurückgreifen.

Grundsätzlich sind wir für solche Vorhaben natürlich offen. Lass uns dazu gern ins Gespräch kommen und schreib uns einfach an.

Über Antikörpertests und qualitative Reagenzien können wir Kokain in Proben nachweisen. Einen entsprechenden QTest der Kokain quantifiziert oder gesicherte Aussagen über die Konzentration von Levamisol zulässt gibt es noch nicht. Mit den aktuellen Verfahren können wir immerhin eine begründete Vermutung aussprechen. Allerdings arbeiten wir auch an einem einfachen und unkomplizierten Testverfahren, um Levamisol zu quantifzieren.

Für die Wirkstoffe Psilocybin, MDMA, LSD sowie THC und CBD stehen miraculix QTests zur Verfügung. Auch Amphetamin und 2CB können wir bereits quantifizieren, die entsprechenden QTests sind gerade in der letzten Entwicklungsphase. Darüber hinaus kommen weitere Farbtests und spezifische Antikörpertests zum Einsatz, die die analysebasierte Intervention noch zusätzlich unterstützen. Damit lassen sich auch jene gängigen Wirkstoffe wie Kokain, Fentanyl oder Amphetamine detektieren für die wir noch keinen QTest in petto haben.

Gemeint ist das Kooperationsprojekt von miraculix und dem Thüringer Drug Checking Pilot-Projekt „SubCheck“ der Suchthilfe in Thüringen gGmbh. Das Projekt findet im Auftrag das Thüringer Ministeriums für Arbeit, Soziales, Gesundheit, Frauen und Familie statt. Ziel ist es, das Potenzial von Drug Checking in Deutschland bzw. Thüringen systematisch zu erproben und neue Potenziale für Präventionsangebote aufzuzeigen. Mehr über das Projekt erfährst du in unserem Blog.

Ja, wir empfehlen immer einen gemeinsamen Workshop zum Drug Checking bevor es das erste Mal ins Feld geht. Alle Teilnehmenden können so in Ruhe die Testverfahren kennenlernen und eine eigene Routine entwickeln. Auch Fragen und Unklarheiten lassen sich unverzüglich klären, sodass Missverständnisse oder Flüchtigkeitsfehler direkt vermieden werden.

Kontakt

Termin mit uns vereinbaren.

Hinterlass uns eine Nachricht mit deiner Frage bzw. deinem Anliegen und wir melden uns schnellstmöglich zurück.